HuffPo: Lucy: Why I’m Tired of Seeing White People on the Big Screen

I’ve often wondered if White people get as irritated as I do about Hollywood’s obvious obsession with White supremacy. Republican-esque in its attempts to rewrite history and change the future by simply rewriting it, producers on screens, large and small, seem incapable of including people of color as equals in an abundant happy world. If Blacks, Latinos, or Asians are included at all, 99.9% of the time, they’re relegated to some stereotypical role. The potential damage to the self-perceptions of young minds of color is obvious, much less the young White minds expected to hold up a false narrative of superiority? An endeavor that brings about its own insanity which has been disturbingly apparent after the election of the first Black president.

This article is a resounding YES to this question, though it will take many more combined voices to change these perverse traditions of Hollywood. Like the author, I too love film. But theaters have gotten fewer of my dollars over the years because of this persistent, imbalanced focus. What we see on film informs what we wear, eat, drink, think … how we see ourselves, no matter how much we might want to deny it. Imagine what good could come about if this wonderful medium was more reflective of reality. From the looks of things, this old commitment to the pretense is driving us all a bit mad. Some more than others.


Lucy: Why I’m Tired of Seeing White People on the Big Screen

LUCY SCARLET

I’m tired of seeing white people on the silver screen.

First, let me note that I am white. I am a white woman who goes to the theater to see probably a dozen films (if not more) in a given year, a white woman who readily consumes TV shows and series and often blogs/tweets about them. I love film. I love what Hollywood could be, but I must say that I don’t love what it is, and that is a machine generating story after story in which the audience is asked to root for a white (usually male) hero over and over and over (and over) again. I’m tired. I’m tired of directors pretending that white actors are the default and that people of color are a distraction when it comes to filmmaking. I’m tired of black women in Hollywood being relegated to roles of slaves and “the help” over and over again. I’m tired of films convincing themselves that they are taking on something fresh and new, the likes of which the world has never seen, but in actuality adhering to tired tropes and stereotypes.

One example that comes to mind is Avatar, a “groundbreaking” film about aliens and humanity, which, underneath it all, is the same old White Savior story. But more recently is Lucy, the film starring Scarlett Johansson

Read full story here

~ by katrinataylor44 on August 5, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
