Miss Me Yet?

Maybe not. But I certainly miss you!!

Seriously, hasn’t been a day gone by that I haven’t thought of you at least once, even on days where I could hardly find a minute to think of much else. Suffice it to say, you are in my heart and your appreciation for anything I’ve had to offer on this blog delights me beyond words.https://i1.wp.com/gurugilbert.com/wp-content/will%20you%20be%20missed.jpg

So here’s my update. The novel is coming along swimmingly 🙂 I’m at around 35,000 words and winding down the home stretch. I’ve given myself until September to complete the first draft. I’m thrilled with the direction it’s taking and how the storylines are unfolding. Hand-drawn storyboards litter my walls, trading places in front of my computer screen as I move from scene to act to scene …

A “telepathic art” Stephen King calls the craft of writing and the way characters rise up out of nowhere wanting to be heard, sharing their voices more brilliantly than I ever could … I can’t help but agree

ah, the writer’s life

So, I’m dropping this little post, checking in on the happenings since I last posted two months ago.

Right off the bat, I see that Congress has only gotten worse in these last couple months. More batshit than ever but are we really surprised? Was there really any doubt about this being the Republican strategy until the end? No matter if President Obama won two terms, Republicans are poised and determined to see him fail in any way they can make it happen.

Fuck the  nation.

And the media continues to feed the misinformed masses just the right slant to keep the 24/7 spin cycle going with made up scandals about the IRS and NSA. What’s Darryl Issa cooking up this week to waste the taxpayers hard-earned dollars on? How many ways can they stir up trouble before they go on vacation again?

This is the “work” they’re doing during the 110 or so days that Congress is actually in session. Out of 365 days of the year. That sweet work deal was one of the first legislative acts out of the newly elected tea party congressmen in 2010, along with the dozens of anti-abortion bills. No wonder so many of them got voted out last time around. But apparently not enough.

Or is it just that ignorance has become contagious and has spread to the formerly saner among us?

Judging from what I’ve seen passing for journalism around the NSA “scandal” and various other assorted “problems” and “issues” I’d say ignorance is about the only thing reaching across the aisle with no shortage of stupid comments coming from the right, and increasingly from the left.

So, I’ve got my finger on the pulse of things, though lightly these days and with my other hand firmly holding my nose when I dare to turn my t.v. on. Noxious noises seep and spill out of Capitol Hill but I gotta have some idea of what’s going on in the world around me.  It would be all too easy to get lost in the expanding universes of my own creation. It happens, and I even forget to sleep at times. Oh, the writer’s life

… you know what I’m talking about

I will be popping in again sooner rather than later. Hopefully with a bit more substance and grit. Just wanted to drop in now and say hello.

“Hello” 🙂

.. and I’ll be back

Peace

~ by katrinataylor44 on June 22, 2013.

7 Responses to “Miss Me Yet?”

  1. (° ͜ʖ ͡°)

  2. Nice of you to pop back in with an update. Best to you as you continue working on your novel. Happy summer 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
